News Releases

Aksarben announces the 2023 Aksarben Farm Family Award Recipients

Aksarben has been honoring our state’s agricultural heritage for nearly 130 years, and began celebrating the dedication and perseverance of Nebraska farm families with Pioneer Family Farm awards in 1956. Since then, nearly 10,000 families have been recognized statewide with either a Pioneer (100 years) or Heritage (150 years) Family Farm Award. Paying homage to these families is something Aksarben looks forward to each year and, in partnership with Nebraska Farm Bureau and the Nebraska Fair Board Managers, we are excited to announce this year’s honorees.

“Each year we get to reflect on the commitment of these Nebraska farmers who work tirelessly to feed not just our nation, but the world. The dedication these families have to Nebraska is truly inspiring, and celebrating these milestones is such an important legacy,” said Sandra Reding, Aksarben Foundation President.

Mark McHargue, President of Nebraska Farm Bureau, adds, “Nebraska Farm Bureau is proud to be part of this long-standing program. Farm and ranch families deserve to be recognized with this coveted and prestigious award which includes nearly 10,000 families in its alliance. These awards recognize the commitment to preserve and build Nebraska agriculture for future generations.”

To apply, families should visit and fill out an application. The deadline to apply each year is April 15. Once the application is received, the Aksarben Foundation will work with the county that the farmland is located within to approve the application. To commemorate their achievement, each family listed will receive an engraved plaque and gatepost marker at their respective county fair.

The 2023 Farm Families are as follows:
2023 Heritage Farm Families – Honoring 150 Years:
Butler County Thomlin Family Farm
Cass County Todd Farms
Foster Farms
Dakota County Randy Lussier Farm
Dawson County Dunaway Family Farm
Dodge County Pedersen Family Farm
Gottlob Low Family Farm
Fillmore County Joseph Reinsch Family Farm
Vaclav Svec Family Farm
Gage County Plucknett/Peters Family Farm
Smith Family Farm
Jefferson County Boddye Family Farm
Glenn Family Farm
Johnson County Bailey (Roberts) Family Farm
Roberts Family Farm
Madison County Simonson Homestead
Uecker Family Farm
Merrick County Wiegert Family Farm
Pawnee County Steinauer Family Farm
Richardson County Rieger Family Farm
Saline County Kaspar Family Farm
Safranek Family Farm
Sarpy County Graham-Stoltenberg Family Farm
Saunders County Henry Paustian Homestead
Seward County Charles Lee Lyon Homestead
Blaine B. Miller Family Farm
Stanton County Asch Family Farm
Washington County Weitkamp Family Farm
Novak Family Farm
Mueller Family Farm

2023 Pioneer Farm Families – Honoring 100 Years:
Adams County William Berg Family Farm
Frank Hubl Widower Family Farm
Antelope County Stelling Family Farm
Box Butte County Walters Family Farm
Buffalo County Busch-Rohrich Family Farm
Book-Rohrich Family Farm
Rohrich Family Farm
Dorothy Family Farm
Burt County J. Edward & A. Charlotte Olson Family Farm
Cass County Linda Rohlfs-Lenker Family Farm
Cedar County Wuebben Family Farm
Cuming County Schutte Family Farm
Custer County Tobias Family Farm
Spanel/Curtis Family Farm
Colfax County Janousek Family Farm
Dawes County Galbreath Family Farm
Deuel County Freeman/Paulsen Family Farm
Mauser Family Farm
Douglas County Wulf Family Farm
Fillmore County Novak Family Farm
Landgren Farms
Frontier County Snyder Family Farm
Furnas County Hill Family Farm
Hill Ranch
Gage County Dorn Family Farm
The Buhr Family
Edwards-Huetson-Sachtleben Family Farm
John Hereth Family Farm
Trout Family Farm
Garden County Paulsen Family Farm
Hall County McGuire Family Farm
Fred and Mary Harker Family Farm
Hamilton County Dose Family Farm
Jefferson County Hahn Family Farms
Johnson County Peters Family Farm
Tagart Farm
Keith County Peters Family Farm
Knox County Schwarts Family Farm
Lancaster County Boldebuck Family Farm
Lincoln County Frels Family Farm
Merrick County Ferris Heritage
Halstead/Ferris Windbreak Pasture
Nuckolls County Hanson Family Farms
Otoe County Linda Rohlfs-Lenker Family Farm
Wulf Family Farm
Wellman Family Farm
Pawnee County De Koning Family Farm
Hothan Family Farm
Pierce County Shermer Family
Hoffmann Family Farm
Petersen Family Farm
Red Willow County Haag Family Farm
Saline County Prokop Family Farm
Sarpy County Haug Family Farm
Hurlbutt Family Farm
Graham-Stoltenberg Family Farm
Iske Farm
Seward County Kraus Family Farm
Hodde Family Farm
Young Family Farm
Sherman County Descendants of Charles Quartz
Sheridan County Cerny Family
Sioux County Hamaker Ranch
Thayer County Brinegar Family Farm
Thurston County Targy Family Farm
Valley County Dorsey Family Farm
Washington County Hansen Family Farm
Duane & LaRae Moseman Family Farm
Wayne County Kermit Johnson Family Farm
Webster County Johnson Family Farm
York County Naber Family Farm
Andrew Morner Family Farm

For more information about the Aksarben Foundation, visit

You may also like