February-March 2020 Edition

The Nebraska Farm Bureau Board of Directors has set the organization’s public policy priorities for 2020. Each year the Board identifies priorities to guide the organization in its efforts to support Nebraska’s farm and ranch families.

Nebraska Farm Bureau has thrown its full support behind a legislative bill that would provide significant property tax relief and start Nebraska down the path of reforming K-12 school funding. Introduced by the Chair of the Legislature’s Revenue Committee, Sen. Lou Ann Linehan of Elkhorn, and other members of the Committee, LB 974 would allocate additional state aid dollars to replace local property taxes, in turn
lowering Nebraskans’ property tax bills.

U.S. Representatives for Nebraska’s 2nd and 3rd Congressional District, Don Bacon of Omaha and Adrian Smith of Gering, each have been designated a “Friend of Agriculture” by NEFB-PAC, Nebraska Farm Bureau’s political action committee. Bacon and Smith, who are both seeking re-election to the House, received the designation based on their work on several policy issues of high priority to Nebraska farmers and ranchers, according to Nebraska Farm Bureau First Vice President Mark McHargue, who chairs the NEFB-PAC.

The 2020 Young Farmers and Ranchers (YF&R) Conference was held Jan. 31-Feb. 1 at the Younes Conference Center in Kearney. More than 190 young farmers, ranchers and agribusiness professionals came together to get insight into agriculture trends, gain knowledge on leading issues facing farmers and ranchers in Nebraska, and build a strong network of lifelong allies needed to thrive in agriculture. This year’s conference was presented by Nebraska Farm Bureau and Aurora Cooperative.

There are undeniably challenges in the cattle industry. Rancher Chester Smith raises cattle with his brother George near Elsmere. Chester has been ranching full-time since he graduated college eight years ago. As a young rancher, he is looking to stay informed on new marketing trends to better market his cattle. He was eager to attend a Cow/Calf Symposium, held Jan. 7 in Stapleton and sponsored by the Logan and McPherson County Farm Bureaus.

The winner of the 2020 Farm Bureau Farm Dog of the Year award is Flint, an Australian shepherd owned by Utah Farm Bureau members Rhett and Beth Crandall. The American Farm Bureau Federation, with support from Nestlé Purina, recognized Flint, four runners-up and a People’s Choice Pup at AFBF’s 101st Annual Convention. Nebraskan David Schuler of Morrill County Farm Bureau and his dog, Josie, were a runners-up in the contest.