The Nebraska Farm Bureau Foundation’s Connecting Chapters Program equips high school FFA members to connect with elementary students and peers to increase agricultural literacy – awareness, knowledge and appreciation – in their communities.

Agricultural literacy is not only important for engaging future consumers about where their food comes from, what it takes to get it to grocery stores, and how the United States’ modern food production system allows them to spend so little of their disposable incomes on food; it also inspires and equips students to explore future careers in agriculture.

Through Connecting Chapters, Nebraska Agriculture in the Classroom, local FFA chapters, the Department of Education and county Farm Bureau leaders build upon the pillars of partnership, mentorship and service to work toward the common goal of developing leaders and protecting the future of agriculture.

All program materials and trainings are provided at no cost to FFA chapters.

FFA chapters that participate in the program complete four milestones to become agricultural literacy champions.


FFA Chapter(s)County Farm Bureau Contact
Maywood Kim Mortensen (Frontier)
Freeman Jered Tiedemann (Gage)
Garden County Shauna Roberson (Garden)
Central Valley Mallory Becker Dugan (Greeley)
Doniphan-Trumbull Mark Haskins (Hall)
Northwest Steve Stettner (Hall)
Hampton Zach Hunnicutt (Hamilton)
O'Neill Barry Kelly (Holt)
Stuart Kay Kaup (Holt)
West Holt Katie & James Olson (Holt)
Elba Kelsey Scheer (Howard)
Tri County Brooke Engleman (Jefferson)
Sterling Jim Erickson (Johnson)
Bloomfield, Creighton, Crofton, Verdigre Krista Podany (Knox)
Norris Paula Peterson (Lancaster)
North Platte, Wallace Heidi Pieper (Lincoln)
Madison, Newman Grove Aaron Fehringer (Madison)
McPherson Matt Fiechtner (McPherson)
Fullterton Ryan Sonderup (Nance)
Twin River Dana Peterson (Nance)
Auburn, Johnson Brock Jason Armknecht (Nemaha)
Superior Kenneth Herz (Nuckolls)
Pawnee City Dennis Schaardt (Pawnee)
BerMis Becky Schwarz (Phelps)
Osmond Adam Venteicher (Pierce)
Lakeview Julie Wilke (Platte)
High Plains Cale Pallas (Polk)
Falls City Quentin Bowen (Richardson)
Crete Mike Nohavec (Saline)
Mead Larry Heyen (Saunders)
Litchfield Tom Smedra (Sherman)
Stanton Aaron Fehringer (Stanton)
Bruning-Davenport, Thayer Central Andy Schmidt (Thayer)
Pender Joel Lamplot (Thurston)
Arcadia, Ord Bill Lueck (Valley)
Blair Greg Hoegermeyer (Washington)
Wayne Chris McGuire (Wayne)
Heartland Karah Perdue (York)