Delegates at the 97th American Farm Bureau Federation Annual Convention elected Zippy Duvall of Georgia as president and Scott VanderWal of South Dakota as vice president for two-year terms. Jan. 12. They also re-elected Nebraska Farm Bureau President Steve Nelson to represent the Midwest Region on the AFBF Board of Directors.

Delegates elected seven state Farm Bureau presidents to the AFBF board of directors: Carl Bednarski, Michigan; Rich Felts, Kansas (Midwest Region), Harry Ott, South Carolina; Jeff Aiken, Tennessee; Gerald Long, Georgia (Southern Region), Rick Ebert, Pennsylvania (Northeast Region) and Bryce Wrigley, Alaska (Western Region).

Eleven other state Farm Bureau presidents were re-elected to represent their regions on the AFBF board of directors: Jim Holte, Wisconsin; Blake Hurst, Missouri; Steve Nelson, Nebraska (Midwest Region), Mark Haney, Kentucky; John Hoblick, Florida; Mike McCormick, Mississippi; Jimmy Parnell, Alabama; Wayne Pryor, Virginia; Randy Veach, Arkansas (Southern Region), Ryck Suydam, New Jersey (Northeast Region) and Hank Combs, Nevada (Western Region).

Denise “Denny” Hymel of Louisiana, Joan Myers of Pennsylvania, Lillian Ostendorf of Montana and Deb Walsh of Indiana were re-elected to two-year terms on the Women’s Leadership Committee.

Cole Coxbill, a cattle rancher and crop grower from Wyoming, was elected the new chair of the AFBF Young Farmers & Ranchers Committee, which also makes him a member of the AFBF board of directors during his one-year term.

Farm Bureau members can mark their calendars for the 98th AFBF Annual Convention and IDEAg Trade Show, Jan. 6-10, 2017, in Phoenix, Arizona.