Twenty-four county Farm Bureaus nationwide are being recognized by the American Farm Bureau Federation for innovative program ideas in this year’s County Activities of Excellence Awards program at AFBF’s 97th Annual Convention and IDEAg Trade Show Jan. 9.

The CAE program acknowledges and shares successful county Farm Bureau programs and activities. The awards are based on county Farm Bureau membership. Counties compete for recognition in five different groups. Those groups are county Farm Bureaus with membership of less than 1,000 members, 1,001-3,000 members, 3,001-5,000 members, more than 5,001 members and a new category this year for collaborative multi-county activities regardless of membership size.

“A genuine commitment to improving county programming was clearly demonstrated by this year’s entries,” said AFBF President Bob Stallman. “Grassroots Farm Bureau members continue to find creative ways to enrich their communities by sharing information about today’s food and farming,” he said.

  • AFBF County Award School Beef Program

    Representing Cheyenne County Farm Bureau
    Tyson & Regina Narjes and  AFBF President Bob Stallman

  • AFBF County Award Once Upon a Farm
    Representing Douglas County Farm Bureau
    Fred & Darleen Tonack, AFBF President Bob Stallman, Mel Valasek, Richard Musel, Justine Petsch

  • AFBF County Award Ag Night at the Ballpark
    Representing Lancaster County Farm Bureau
    Justine Petsch, Burdette Piening, Pat McGill, Larry Hudkins, Virginia Piening, Rod Hollman,
    AFBF President Bob Stallman, Carol Hudkins, Erma McGill

This year’s CAE award winners come from 11 states: California, Delaware, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, Ohio, South Carolina and Texas. The winners (listed by state and county Farm Bureau) are:

Education and Ag Promotion

Farm-to-Fork Dinner, Kent

Farm Bureau Farmer’s Market, Paulding

Grain for Growth Wagon, Effingham
Farm Trek 2015, Hancock and McDonough
Farm Camp, Whiteside

Fair Scavenger Hunt, Fulton

A Slice of Ag in Every Pizza, Stafford

Our Many Ways to Thank a Farmer, Wright

School Beef Program, Cheyenne
Once Upon a Farm, Douglas

Agriculture Awareness Day, Athens-Meigs
The Life of a Cow, Auglaize, Logan, Darke and Clark
Breakfast on the Farm, Fulton
Family Agriculture Education Tents, Medina

Grain Bin Safety Training/Demonstration, Lamar

Member Services

A Partnership for Successful Resource Planning, Modoc

Manure Pit Safety/Rescue Training, Mercer

Ag Night at the Ball Park, Lancaster

Nutrient Management Record Keeper, Knox
Farm-er-taining Ag Tour/Annual Meeting, Pike

Public Relations & Information

Stanislaus Rural Crime Alert Facebook Page, Stanislaus

Grocery Giveaway, Cook

Annual Thanksgiving Food Basket Giveaway, Clermont

South Carolina
Ag Works – Farm Eye for the City Guy, Lexington

For more information on the winning programs, contact John Torres, AFBF director of leadership development, at (202) 406-3738 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. Additional information can be found on the official convention website at